This is the final of three blogs concerning diagnostic imaging technologists and your diagnostic imaging department.

Technologists in the diagnostic imaging field can receive credentials based on any specialties they pursue. This blog explores the major credentialing organizations.

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists® (ARRT)

ARRT is the world’s largest diagnostic imaging credentialing organization, registering technologists in 17 different disciplines including radiography, nuclear medicine technology, radiation therapy, MRI and sonography. Technologists must pass educational, ethical and examination requirements in order to be certified by ARRT. Employers as well as state and federal regulators can check the ARRT website for the certification and registration status of a technologist. Currently, 325,000 technologists are registered with ARRT.

American Registry of Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologists (ARMRIT)

Because Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) does not use radiation, MRI technologists do not have to be RTs. ARMRIT provides a way for people to specialize in MRI without training for radiology or radiography. When employers hire an ARMRIT-certified MRI technologist, they know that the tech is educated, trained and experienced specifically to conduct MRI testing. To date, MRI technologists in 46 states, Puerto Rico, Guam, Canada, Britain, Asia and the Middle East have been certified. ARMRIT is recognized by all four CMS designated accrediting organizations: American College of Radiology (ACR), Inter-Societal Accreditation Commission (IAC), Joint Commission and RadSite.

Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB)

A nuclear medicine technologist (NMT) works specifically with patients undergoing tests that require radiopharmaceuticals. NMTs handle radiopharmaceuticals, perform imaging procedures, enhance images utilizing a computer and analyze biologic specimens. NMTs can be certified by both the ARRT and the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB), but the NMTCB was formed for the purpose of creating and maintaining examinations specifically for NMTs. The standards established by the NMTCB include educational requirements, practical experience and successful completion of an appropriate competency-based examination. The NMTCB certifies and registers people who have developed the required body of knowledge to practice nuclear medicine technology.

Final Thoughts | Diagnostic Imaging Technologists

Because of the critical role that technologists play in every diagnostic imaging department, RadSite requires all technologists to be certified in the modalities they operate. Certification through the ARRT, ARMRIT and NMTCB demonstrates that a technologist has the proper training and qualifications to safely operate various imaging systems and provide quality care to patients.

Properly credentialed technologists are important to your department; not only that, but their relationships with the diagnostic imaging team and patients are of the utmost importance too. A professional relationship based on trust and respect for each person can foster efficiency, improved outcomes and greater patient satisfaction for the entire organization. To demonstrate that your facility and imaging team meet quality standards, contact RadSite today!

Ready to learn more?

Contact us to talk more about our programs and services. Give us a call at 443-440-6007 or send us a note.

Contact us today